Using cut vinyl for screen stencil

This section is all about screen making. This would include stretching, mesh prep, and coating the screens with emulsion. All related topics such as screen storage and trouble shooting for getting screens ready to expose.

Moderators: Shamax, Leadfoot, ApeShirt, Catspit Productions

dayofthedoodles

Using cut vinyl for screen stencil

Post by dayofthedoodles »

Hi all!
I just finished watching a boatload of CSP vidos on youtube about preparing emulsions, burning screens, paper stencils, etc. I am very new to screenprinting, and I've been going about it a completely different way and thought I'd share. I run a small sign shop and I use a 24" plotter to cut vinyl sheeting for some sign lettering. I had a 20" x 24" 200-something mesh screen and some ink and thought "well now what?". I used my potter to cut a negative of a simple design, weeded out the stencil and masked the sheeting with a low-tack tape. Then I applied the vinyl directly to the screen, burnished it like crazy, and made a couple dozen shirts. It was a lot of fun, required zero chemicals, and clean-up was a snap. I just peeled the vinyl off of the screen, scrubbed out what was left of the ink and was done.
I had another sign-guy friend tell me he tried using vinyl on screens and it didn't work for him at all - but I think he was using the low-end stuff. The higher grade the vinyl is, the thinner it is, and the more adhesion you're going to get overall. A little bit of heat to help the adhesion along certainly doesn't hurt.
I've used this method twice now, once with a really simple silhouette and again with a more complicated design, and got pretty fabulous results both times.

I'd be really interested to know if anyone else has ever tried this method, and what their results were.
-Erin
dayofthedoodles

Re: Using cut vinyl for screen stencil

Derp. Just saw there's already a large thread on this topic - my bad.
Catspit Productions
Site Admin