What mesh for this image?

All about screen printing mesh. This is where you can discuss mesh counts, nomenclature and how to choose the correct mesh count for the print job.

Moderators: Shamax, Leadfoot, ApeShirt, Catspit Productions

calhtech

What mesh for this image?

Post by calhtech »

brbc youth walk the talk.jpg
Hey guys, I am really a NEWBIE, trying to determine what mesh count I should be using for the 2 color job. Any help, would certain be appreciated.
Catspit Productions
Site Admin

Re: What mesh for this image?

Post by Catspit Productions »

I think you could do this on something like a 125/130. Definitely a 156 would do it but you want to try to use the most open mesh count for plastisol inks especially for dark garments. Water based inks you might use a 195/200 or even a 230 if the ink is very thin.

I would run this on my 125, 70 mic screens. It’s a thin mesh that has bigger mesh openings than a 110 with more threads per inch. That way you can get great detail and still have excellent ink flow. I would run that screen on a light blue too. It appears the shirt would be light blue, yes?
Jonathan Monaco
Catspit Productions, LLC
Learn how to screen print tee shirts!

http://catspitscreenprintsupply.com/
http://www.youtube.com/user/CatspitProductions
ApeShirt
Master Screen Printer

Post by ApeShirt »

Personally, I'd use a 156 or higher for the black ink. Won't lay as much ink, resulting in a softer hand while maintaining good coverage. Black is great ink to work with 8-)
Greg
If you're not going to go all the way then why bother going at all.
ApeShirt Apparel Printing, LLC
calhtech

Post by calhtech »

Yes, Jon tthe shirt color is "Sapphire" blue. Thanks for the info guys....
jesushchris
Screen Trooper

Post by jesushchris »