Production

This section is all about the business side of screen printing. This may include but is not limited to business procedures, marketing and advertising, return or misprint policies, customer relations and pricing. Basically anything that has to do with the business side of screen printing.

Moderators: Shamax, Leadfoot, ApeShirt, Catspit Productions

AS717

Production

Post by AS717 »

We seem to be having a difference of opinion in our shop regarding productivity. We have a 6 head manual press (Ranar) and I was wondering how many "hits" a day you think is reasonable? I believe that we should be able to achieve 500-600 if we are properly prepared, my pressman thinks that 200-300 is a better target.
drew
Senior Screen Printer

Re: Production

Post by drew »

I would think an average of 50/hr is a pretty decent number, which would put you at 400 roughly(8hr day). Meeting in the middle is usually a good starting point in my opinion. Im very new at screen printing but it also will depend on the type of dryer and number of colors being used.
Catspit Productions
Site Admin

Post by Catspit Productions »

The answer for this varies and is dependent on the printer. Back in my heyday when I was young I could easily print about 125 1 color prints on white shirts in an hour. But that took concentration and determination without disturbances. Some people claim to be faster than that. Today I am much slower than that and how fast you can print will really be determined by how easy it is to print that screen. The easier it is the faster it will be.