Guidelines for Disposing of "Water Waste" in Garage Setup

This section should relate directly to the Catspit Screen Printing Forum or to general questions that do not seem to fit other categories. Feel free to post anything here that does not fit into any other category.

Moderators: Shamax, Leadfoot, ApeShirt, Catspit Productions

sbrown
Screen Trooper

Guidelines for Disposing of "Water Waste" in Garage Setup

Post by sbrown »

Hi!
Ive been accruing screen printing gear now for the last 4 years or so, slowly but surely, so that I can start printing my designs as a side gig to make a few extra bucks (Ive been a freelance graphic designer for almost a decade now and have always wanted to screen my own designs ever since I took a class in high school back in the day)...

Anyways, one my largest concerns and still a very foggy area that needs some professional advice on is how to properly dispose of the water waste that comes into my booth from spraying out emulsion and cleaning screens. I have a very basic set up that is housed in my garage. The typical "starter kit"... and I purchased a cheap utility sink along with some 5 gallon buckets to spray out my screens in the garage.

What Id like to know though, is - what the heck can I do with this water once I got it contained in my 5 gallon buckets? If I were to dump it down the drain, would it damage our homes plumbing? Also, how volatile is the water waste from emulsion? I understand Plastisol is definitely bad and needs to be separated and filtered out of the water first, but even in that case - once its filtered can I just dump it down the sink? Do I need to contact a disposal company to pick this stuff up?

Im a pretty health conscious guy, and would prefer not damaging the environment or my own families health so Im really looking for the best possible way to handle the disposal of this waste from my own home on a very low-to-no-budget setup basically.