Having some issues with with curing

Here you can discuss any issues related to working with water based screen printing inks. This would include curing, heat setting, mixing colors, additives, brands, usages and much more.

Moderators: Shamax, Leadfoot, ApeShirt, Catspit Productions

KBcreative

Having some issues with with curing

Post by KBcreative »

I am just starting out printing myself, been designing shirts for some time now and decided to take up screen printing. I am having some problems with curing the matsui opaque white on dark garments. I have been only using a heat gun, which may be the problem. I have been hitting the screen then using the heat gun to flash a little bit then hitting it one more time before curing it. I have been watching many of the videos on your youtube and they have helped out tremendously, maybe i just need to experiment with different methods. I was just wondering if you had any suggestions.
Catspit Productions
Site Admin

Re: Having some issues with with curing

Post by Catspit Productions »

Yes, the heat gun could be an issue here but also treating a water based ink like a plastisol ink and doing a hit/flash/hit may also be not a good idea. I have never used the Matsui inks so I have no experience with the opaque white. I would try to set it up on an open enough mesh count that you can get the coverage you want without flashing and printing again.

I would also use a flash sure unit at the very least to cure any ink. So these issues combined may be what the problem is. My guess is there is too much ink to fully cure properly with a heat gun. But since Ryonet sells the Matsui ink let’s ask them. I’ll see if I can get them to help us out here and tell us what we should do with your issue.
Jonathan Monaco
Catspit Productions, LLC
Learn how to screen print tee shirts!

http://catspitscreenprintsupply.com/
http://www.youtube.com/user/CatspitProductions
Free Man
Senior Screen Printer

Post by Free Man »